17:53 PM

MIA among approved airports for flights from Europe

U.S. travel restriction for some seeking entry from 26 countries takes effect on March 14

Miami International Airport will be added to the established list of U.S. airports approved by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to receive flights from the Schengen area of 26 European countries, as classified by a presidential proclamation that suspends and limits entry to the U.S. effective at 11:59 p.m. on March 13. MIA is one of two airports joining the roster of already designated airports authorized to receive flights from the area, bringing the total number of airports to 13.

MIA currently has 117 weekly arrivals from 17 airports within the Schengen area, for an average of 16 arriving flights per day. Those 17 airports are Amsterdam, Barcelona, Copenhagen, Dusseldorf, Frankfurt, Helsinki, Lisbon, Madrid, Milan, Munich, Oslo, Paris (CDG), Paris (Orly), Rome, Stockholm, Warsaw and Zurich.

Passengers are encouraged to contact their airline to confirm their flight status, because schedules are subject to change.


For more information about MIA’s preparedness to prevent the spread of the Coronavirus (COVID-19), visit MIA’s website.

For information about how Miami-Dade County officials continue to work with local, state and federal agencies in monitoring COVID-19, visit Miami-Dade County’s website.

To request materials in accessible format, Sign Language Interpreters, CART services and/or any accommodation to participate in any Miami-Dade Aviation Department (MDAD) public meetings and events please email the ADA Office at or call the office in 305-876-7747 five days in advance to initiate your request. Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing may also call 711 (Florida Relay Service).